Tracy Banghart

Tracy Banghart's books on Goodreads

Rebel Wing Rebel Wing (Rebel Wing #1)
reviews: 118
ratings: 199 (avg rating 4.18)

By Blood By Blood (By Blood, #1)
reviews: 50
ratings: 88 (avg rating 3.97)

Moon Child Moon Child (Prequel to By Blood)
reviews: 27
ratings: 49 (avg rating 3.86)

Storm Fall Storm Fall (Rebel Wing, #2)
reviews: 27
ratings: 41 (avg rating 4.22)

What the Sea Wants What the Sea Wants
reviews: 5
ratings: 20 (avg rating 3.10)

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format

This form does not yet contain any fields.
    agent agent news Ali Cross Alloy Entertainment allthefeelings Amazon American Idol announcement Apple audiobook Autumn Kalquist awesomeness Awkward Picture Day baby book meme bad poetry bbook deal BBY BLOOD BETA ONE Beth Revis Big news Blogger love BLOOD CROWN book blitz book deal book news Book Recommendations BY BLOOD Carrie Ryan Ccover love ccover reveal Center Stage Christine Fonseca chunka chunka Cindy Pon Corrine Jackson cover love cover reveal critique partners Critters cupcakes Cutlass Cynthia Voigt David Pandolfe Defector deployment dystopian Finn Finnegan Flash Fiction Friday free! give giveaway Gretchen McNeil guest post Halloween IF I LIE Impostor Indie Books IRDA Italy Jennifer Walkup Jessica Spotswood JULIET IMMORTAL Jump When Ready Kody Keplinger koko LADY LOST Laurie J. Edwards Leap Year Lee Strauss Legacy Code Linda Epstein Mae I Design MAJOR HOTSAUCE map military Moon Child music networking Never Been Kissed new release new year newsletter Ollie Oxford paperback picture books Quiet Kids Rachel Hamm Rachel Marks RaShelle Workman Ratgirl READY. SET. WRITE! Rebel Wing Regina Wamba rejection relaunch resolutions revising Robin McKinley SCBWI scifi Scotland scrabble Second Verse secrets self-publishing SFWC shari arnold SHATTERED VEIL Smash starred review Stasia Ward Kehoe Stephanie Perkins Steve Jobs Storm Fall Storm Warning street team surprises Susan Kaye Quinn Susanne Winnacker Tangled Promise teaser teaser tuesday thank you THE KIDS The 100 The Bookanistas the bug The Girl Guide The Indelibles The Informer The Iron Flowers THE KIDS The Other Life The Sorcery Code Third Daughter titles To Find You Torn Sky Travel TThe Bookanistas Vanessa Garden wedding What's Up Wednesday winners winning writing wwriting Xpresso Book Tours
    « VAMPIRE LIES: A Fairy Tale Giveaway! | Main | New Indie Releases! »
    Monday
    Apr142014

    Writing Process Blog Tour

    My good friend and crit partner Laurie J. Edwards asked if I wanted to participate in the Writing Process Blog Tour, which is actually a really cool version of a chain letter. I had to say yes! Laurie is an incredibly hard-working writer and editor, with tons of projects going and much success ahead of her. She has TWO books coming out this year: Grace and the Guiltless under the pen name Erin Johnson, and Cyber Self-Defense, which she's co-writing with expert Alexis Moore. Both sound amazing, no? For more info on Laurie and her upcoming releases, check out her website here.

    Thank you for tagging me, Laurie!

    So on to my answers to the Writing Process Blog Tour questions!

    1) What are you working on?

    I am currently writing the first draft of the sequel to SHATTERED VEIL, called TANGLED PROMISE. I also have a YA fantasy, A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS, that I'll be revising this summer for an August release.

     

    2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

    My Diatous Wars trilogy (SHATTERED VEIL, TANGLED PROMISE, etc) looks at first glance like a dystopian, in the vein of The Hunger Games or Divergent. But it's actually not...the main character, rather than fighting against a corrupt and oppressive government, is in fact fighting FOR her country against an outside threat. I think the love story is also an interesting take for the genre.

    3) Why do I write what I do?

    I have always enjoyed reading young adult fiction. It's my favorite genre, in particular because I found the stories so inspiring when I was a young adult. I write YA because the voice and types of stories are comfortable to me, and also because I'd love to think that my characters could be inspiring to someone as well. I feel really passionate about showing strong girls growing up to be empowered, empathetic adults. I also really enjoy exploring healthy female friendships in my stories, which I think is somewhat lacking in current YA fiction.

    4) How does my writing (or writing with pictures/illustrating) process work?

    I tend to do some but not a lot of plotting before I start writing. I need to know where the story and characters end up...and figure out the important details of the world and major plot points. But that's about all the planning I do. I try to write my first drafts fast, so my inner editor doesn't have time to rear her red pen and slow down the process. I enjoy revising more than I do writing first drafts. But I LOVE the moments when a character takes on a life of their own, or a plot snag suddenly untangles itself. Drafting is exciting and exhausting! 

    I tend to write shorter first drafts and fill out in revisions, rather than writing long and having to cut. And I am eternally indebted to my wonderful critique partners and beta readers who offer their feedback and support throughout the process!

    I'm tagging Ali Cross to continue the chain! Ali is the author of the popular Desolation series, as well as the exciting new scifi Blood Crown (which I absolutely LOVED). She likes to say she holds a black belt in awesome since the only kind of kicking-butt she does is on paper. She's a virtual ninja.

    PrintView Printer Friendly Version

    EmailEmail Article to Friend

    Reader Comments

    There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

    PostPost a New Comment

    Enter your information below to add a new comment.

    My response is on my own website »
    Author Email (optional):
    Author URL (optional):
    Post:
     
    Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>